Friday, July 12

Women’s Asia Cup 2024: All You Need to Know

The Women's Asia Cup returns in 2024! Get all the info on the 8 participating teams, including India, Pakistan & exciting newcomers

The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) has announced the much-awaited Women’s Asia Cup 2024, which will be held in Dambulla, Sri Lanka, from July 19th to July 28th, 2024. This edition promises to be bigger and more exciting than ever before.

Eight Teams Vying for Glory

The tournament will see an expansion from the previous edition, featuring eight teams instead of six. The four established teams – India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh – will be joined by the semifinalists of the Women’s Premier Cup 2024. This opens the door for new contenders like UAE, Malaysia, Nepal, and Thailand to showcase their talent on the prestigious Asia Cup stage.

A Tournament Committed to Women in Cricket

Following the successful implementation in the 2022 edition, the Women’s Asia Cup 2024 will once again feature all-female match officials. This is a commendable step towards promoting and empowering women in cricket officiating roles.

Group Stage – A Battle for Supremacy

The eight teams have been divided into two groups:

  • Group A: India, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka
  • Group B: UAE, Malaysia, Nepal, Thailand

An exciting group stage awaits, with each team playing all other teams in their group. Here’s a look at the opening day’s fixtures:

  • July 19, Friday: Pakistan vs Nepal, India vs UAE
  • July 20, Saturday: Malaysia vs Thailand, Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh

Women’s Asia Cup 2024: Full Schedule

Here’s the full schedule for the remaining matches:

DateMatch 1Match 2
July 19, FridayPakistan vs NepalIndia vs UAE
July 20, SaturdayMalaysia vs ThailandSri Lanka vs Bangladesh
July 21, SundayNepal vs UAEIndia vs Pakistan
July 22, MondaySri Lanka vs MalaysiaBangladesh vs Thailand
July 23, TuesdayPakistan vs UAEIndia vs Nepa
July 24, WednesdayBangladesh vs MalaysiaSri Lanka vs Thailand
July 26, FridaySF1 (Group A 1st) vs (Group B 2nd)SF2 (Group B 1st) vs (Group A 2nd)
July 28, SundayFINALS

Knockout Stages – The Road to the Championship

The top two teams from each group will progress to the semi-finals, where they will face off in a cross-group format. The winners of the semi-finals will then clash in the grand finale on July 28th to determine the Women’s Asia Cup 2024 champion.

With an expanded format, promising newcomers, and a continued focus on women in cricket, the Women’s Asia Cup 2024 promises to be a thrilling spectacle for cricket fans worldwide.

Can’t get enough of sports? Check out Sport Circle’s Youtube Channel here. Want more bite-sized content? Follow us on Instagram and Twitter!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *